Skip to content

Facebook, Farmville madness

August 9, 2010

Ever since my friend started bugging me for joining this game Farmville I didn’t like it. The reason being it was suggested by this guy. I couldn’t remember the last time he did me any good and I am sure this is no exception.🙂

First of all I hated Facebook and kept myself away from it. Its not that I never tried it at all. I did try creating my profile in it. While creating my profile, it showed a page saying I can invite my friends and if they already have a facebook id I could network with them. It also showed an even more “friendlier” option to choose my friends from my gmail account.

I unsuspectingly followed the steps and it did pull email ids from my contact list in gmail. It showed about ten email ids in one page. I chose couple of email ids and clicked OK… That’s it. All hell broke. The email ids list it showed is in fact runs for several pages about eight hundred email contact ids it had dutifully pulled but showed me only ten in one page. As I clicked OK facebook decided itself that I had consented to invite all the rest of the email contacts (about 750 of them) and sent invites with a zeal of veteral spammer. It not only sent invites to my friends but also to so many non-friends too whom I had vowed earlier not to contact at any cost.

That being my small experience with Facebook, I got scared to venture again for the Farmville thing; but my enemies is no small and they are all started pestering me to join the club… So I ventured my first step into farmville. During my school I had played a similar games in the playground. Nowadays where is the playground? So I think all those games transported into this computer box.

Farmville was interesting at first, now it has caught me with a tarzan grip. Morning I wakeup I rush to facebook and check if my artichokes are ready for reaping. My friends dutifully fertilize it and I also had to return the favour. Suddenly one bull will show up and I had to guide it to my friend’s farm. Farmville posts lot of messages in the wall and almost I cant find any direct messages from my friends.

Neighbouring, gifting are all cool social networking… Farmville has its own currency system, you could buy seeds, flowers etc in their market with the Farmville coins. If you are short of coins, and immediately need some cash and can’t wait for your crops to grow, well, then there is this way, you can buy coins buy paying real world money through your real-world credit card which would definitely take out cash from your real-world bank. Well, now we are talking business! They give 7500 coins for 5 US dollars and they give about 70,000 coins for 40 US dollars.

Anyways, I guess none of our Desi guys would ever take out their own credit card🙂 for buying farm coins, but Americans may probably do it…  All that said and done, I still long for the playground and the fun of playing with real people… nothing can replace that fun, don’t you agree? Oh my god, my rice plantation must be ready now… I got to rush to farmville.. Chao, pals!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

