Skip to content

Killing time – story

November 24, 2007

You know, killing is not my primary job or hobby. It just happens. During my earlier days in my job, it was tough those days – no time to kill. Later it all changed. I am totally free to do whatever I want and there it started.

These days, I am restricted to my home and couldn’t move around the town as I used to, before my retirement. Looking around the four walls – with nothing to set my eye on, irritates me beyond my tolerance level and makes me mad, then I look for ways to kill..

Most of the work around the home is taken care by others… they won’t even allow me to lend my hand in anything. I like to play with knives – I am a master in handling the knife – yet they won’t let me. The very sound of cutting will chill my blood… slow my breath – I still believe if I work with the knife – i could regain my youth. Yet, I am forcibly refrained from using the knife.

Last month, I made a big scene and then I was offered a TV set in my room… Initially I was all too curious about it. I was cycling through the 124 channels non-stop. And then, it struck me – most of the things I get to see are in fact, absurd – this is not for my kind of person I thought. After couple of weeks, I even forgot the TV set in my room.

Well, couple of weeks after that, on a usual dull day, without any apparent reason, my hands started trembling. I had nothing to do – nothing to say – nothing to look at – My head was rolling – I started to hear loud shouts “kill… kill… kill..”. I don’t know – I started to expect something worse to happen…

Surprisingly…

My room door opened and there she was! I don’t know her – but she was seemingly familiar. I greeted her and offered a seat. She was new to this place – wanted to check out around here and thus she had come to my room. We had a long chat.

She was a teacher by profession and she too was retired. I told her that I were a chef for a long time. Together we shared lot of interests… Hmm… Finally I found lot of things coming up in my mind to share with her. Wow! Now-a-days the bells in my head have stopped ringing. Not anymore I am bored in this home.

With such a nice friend, time has stopped killing me – and we have started “killing time” instead!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Rajesh permalink
    November 25, 2007 9:59 am

    Where is the story? :)))

  2. November 25, 2007 9:59 pm

    good thought….

  3. November 25, 2007 10:34 pm

    @Nataraj: :))

  4. sangs permalink
    November 25, 2007 11:56 pm

    for a minute there,i thought you were talking about yourself !! retired !!! and enthu to blog.i was impressed.only at the end i realised its a story😛 dumb moronic me😉

  5. November 26, 2007 8:29 am

    @Sang: All I tried was to create a thriller – wherein it seems like a psychopath is desperate to kill – and in the end to untie the knot saying its a old man trying to kill his time – it didn’t come well – dumb moronic of me too :))

  6. December 6, 2007 9:39 pm

    Good one. But u cud have kept some supense at the end and said “To be contd…….”

Leave a Reply

